Five-year Plan

I Own 100 Banker’s Boxes

Bankers Boxes are the New Black

Jean Elizabeth Glass
4 min readMar 19, 2022

--

A few of the banker’s boxes. (Photo by author)

When we decided to become a nomad family, I hadn’t realized that my life would revolve around banker’s boxes. Why banker’s boxes? They are sturdy, with a tight-fitting lid, and all measure exactly 12 x 10 x 15 inches. This makes them really easy to stack. They come flat, and you have to separate the lid from the box, fold the lid, then fold each box. Luckily, our nearly 10-year-old loves to fold the lids!

Everything in the house either gets tossed, donated, given away, or kept. The plan is that anything we’re keeping gets put into a clearly labeled banker’s box. So far, that plan is working, but I have no idea if it will continue to work once decision fatigue sets in.

Fun Fact: Decision fatigue is a real thing. Decision fatigue is “the idea that after making many decisions, your ability to make more and more decisions over the course of a day becomes worse. The more decisions you have to make, the more fatigue you develop and the more difficult it can become.” -Lisa MacLean, MD.

I think that is effect is cumulative over the course of weeks and months, but that could just be me staring at all the things in this house that require decisions.

--

--

Jean Elizabeth Glass

I write things. A lot. I love to travel. I edit and create content. Need help with words? I can help. jean@wordsmithweb.com